EDA Investor in Training Awards 2016

March 10, 2016

The branch managers of EDA wholesaling members who had gone that ‘extra mile’ to help their staff progress through EDA training schemes, were rewarded at the EDA’s Annual Dinner held at the Hotel InterContinental in London’s Park Lane.

The 560 guests at the Annual Awards Dinner, applauded as 11 branch manager winners received their imposing Awards in recognition of their great efforts in upskilling their staff. The awards were presented by EDA President Tom Jones and by those representing MOL’s Product Knowledge Module training and EDA Apprenticeships Plus training, which were the sponsors for the event.

How to win

The winner managers are not chosen in the usual way for awards of this type i.e. by nomination. Rather, they are selected by the EDA and its training partners after a thorough analysis of its learner database each year. The EDA looks at the numbers of learners going through their businesses, and at the grades and results achieved by these learners. The EDA points out that there is a correlation between the enthusiasm and commitments of the manager, and the results achieved by the learner.

The Awards were won by those branch managers who were deemed to have done most to help their staff to progress within their branches in 2015.

And the winners are:

Manager Product Knowledge Awards – by member group

  • ANEW Bill Ennis, Rifina, Tewksbury
  • AWEBB Andy Hutchinson, Lamps – The Electrical Wholesaler, Long Crendon
  • CEF Mark Rasbuary, City Electrical Factors,
  • Edmundson Jon Madge, Edmundson Electrical, Coventry
  • Fegime UK David Brown, Circuit Supply, Waterlooville
  • Rexel UK Andrew Allen, Newey & Eyre, Cambridge
  • Other Independents Nigel Bithell, UK Electric, Warrington

Manager Apprenticeships Awards

  • Julian Williams, Devondale, Barnstaple
  • Miriam Booth, UK Spares, Bristol
  • Chris Mizen, Edmundson Electrical Peterborough
  • David Philpott, Electric Center, Aberdeenn

The young MOL Product Knowledge Module and EDA Apprenticeships winners, who were helped by the above managers, received their own awards next day during a fabulous luncheon high up in the Shard skyscraper.

And the winners are:

Learner Product Knowledge Awards – by member group

  • ANEW  Jack Shortridge, Devondale, Barnstable
  • ANEW  Luke Shawsmith, Medlocks, Essex
  • Edmundson Ronnie Flockhart, Edmundson Electrical, Greenwich
  • Edmundson Tomas Forecast, Edmundson Electrical, Edmonton
  • Rexel UK James Wakefield, Newey and Eyre, Kings Lynn

Apprenticeship Award

  • ANEW Neil Walkingshaw, BEMCO, Edinburgh
  • AWEBB Robert Hensley, Crossfold, London
  • CEF Amy Long, CEF, Bangor
  • Edmundson Michael Chandler, Edmundson Electrical, Park Royal
  • Fegime UK Alexander Marenghi, Circuit Supply, Waterlooville
  • Rexel UK Daniel Haggerty, Wilts, Trowbridge
  • Stearn Business’s, Alex Benwell, Stearn Electric Co, Bristol



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *